

EARLY YEARS WORKING GROUP OF THE BARNET SCHOOLS FORUM

Wednesday 11th June at 3.00PM Training Room 5, Building 2, North London Business Park, Oakleigh Road South, London N11 1NP

AGENDA

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. Welcome to new members
- 3. Minutes of previous meeting: 30th April 2008
- 4. Matters Arising
- 5. Lessons Learned From Pathfinders
- 6. Models For Implementing 15hours And Flexibility
- 7. Any Other Business

Dates for future meetings:

16 September 2008 (Training Room 5)

19 November 2008 (Training Room 5)

Please contact Sarrosh Ali if you have any queries about this meeting:

Tel: 020 8359 7816; email: sarrosh.ali@barnet.gov.uk

Early Years Working Group Members							
Perina	Holness	Moss Hall Nursery	Maintained	Nursery School			
Christine	Read	All Saints, N20	Maintained	Nursery Class			
John	Maxwell	Holly Park	Maintained	Nursery Class			
Anthea	Abery	Rosh Pinah	Maintained	Nursery Class	Faith		
Liz	Bartlett	Wingfield	Maintained	Children's Centre			
Julie	Paice	Senior Childminding Co- Ordinator (LBB)	PVI	Childminders			
Elaine	Rosenthal	Playsafe	PVI	- Sessional			
Pauline	Congdon	Little Acorns	PVI	Jessional			
Sarah	Vipond	Middlesex Uni	PVI	Full Day Care	Schools Forum		
Diana	Rose	Kerem House PVI Independent School		ol .			
Sharon	Lee	FRS	PVI	Setting	Faith		
OTHER ATTENDEES							
Stuart	Gray	Principal Inspector		Children's Service	Chair		
		Acting Director of Children's					
Martin	Baker	Service		Children's Service			
Diane	Lewis	Early Years Inspector		Children's Service			
Zahid	Parvez	Business Manager		Children's Service			
Carol	Beckman	Schools Funding Manager		Children's Service			
Lisa	Horne	Barnet Pre Sch	ool Learning All	iance			
		School Resource	es & Support				
Sarrosh	Ali	Officer		Children's Service	Minutes		

Early Years Working Group Agreed by the Schools Forum 5th February 2008

Membership

- 1. 10 representatives from early years providers
- 2. Clerk provided by Barnet
- 3. 'Facilitator' provided by Barnet
- 4. The Director of Children's Service (DCS) or his/her representative
- Only the 10 representatives may vote.
- The group will be chaired by the representative of the Director of Children's Service
- At least one member should also be a member of the Schools Forum
- Membership will cover all areas of the current providers of the free entitlement for 3 & 4 year olds:
- Members should represent a fair cross section of each of the 4 Learning Network Boards.
- Members should be nominated by their peers and may hold office for 2 years.
- Members of the Schools Forum may attend as observers if they are not members of the working group
- No substitutes will be allowed.

Providers	Secular	Faith	Total
Maintained nursery schools	1		1
Maintained nursery classes	2	1	3
Children's Centres	1	-	1
PVI – Sessional	1		
PVI – Full Day Care	1	1	4
PVI – Independent	1		
Schools			
Childminders	1	-	1
Totals	8	2	10

Terms of Reference

- The working group will be constituted initially for 2 years.
- The working group will meet at least once per term
- The Chair of the working group must report back to each meeting of the Schools Forum
- The first meeting will take place by 30 April 2008
- The local authority will draw up the agenda in discussion with the DCS and the Chair of the Schools Forum
- Agendas may cover the following topics, plus any others relating to the provision and funding of the free entitlement:
 - Findings of pathfinder authorities
 - o The results of the Childcare Sufficiency Assessment
 - A consistent funding formula for all providers
 - Pupil data collections
 - Relative costs in different sectors
 - o In year adjustments to funding
 - Provision for deprivation
 - Special educational needs

o Distribution of funding for the extra 2½ hours and greater flexibility

Please sign in

Early Years Working Group Members					
Perina	Holness				
Christine	Read				
John	Maxwell				
Anthea	Abery				
Liz	Bartlett				
Julie	Paice				
Elaine	Rosenthal				
Pauline	Congdon				
Sarah	Vipond				
Diana	Rose				
Sharon	Lee				
OTHER A	TTENDEES				
Stuart	Gray				
Martin	Baker	Absent			
Diane	Lewis				
Zahid	Parvez				
Carol	Beckman				
Lisa	Horne				
Sarrosh	Ali	Absent			